+94 11 2698426 | +94 11 2699202 | info@iesl.lk

YMS Technical Conference 2024 

Call for Papers 


The Young Members Section (YMS) has planned to conduct the Young Members Technical Conference in September 2024 align with the IESL 118th Annual Session. This is a great opportunity for all young Engineers and student members of the institution to present their technical papers and discuss engineering related topics with the industry and academic professionals. 



All Corporate and Associate members below 40 years age and all student members are eligible to submit papers.



Any engineering disciplines which address a solution to an existing problem, or an invention are accepted.



  • Call for Papers                              - 1st June 2024
  • Closing date for submission       – 20th June 2024
  • Notification of acceptance          – 31st July 2024
  • Date of the conference                – 27, 28 and 29th September 2024



The conference will be held at Auditorium in the IESL head office premises as a hybrid session with the physical participation and online participation.


General Chairs of the Conference

  1. Prof. Udayanaga Hemapala (Advisor YMS) – University of Moratuwa (EE)
  2. Prof. Udeni Nawagamuwa (Advisor YMS) – University of Moratuwa (CE)


  1. Co-Chairs of the Conference
  1. Dr. Akila Wijethunga - University of Sri Jayewardenepura (EE)
  2. Dr. Damayanthi Herath - University of Peradeniya (CoE)



1. Electrical, Electronic Telecommunication and Computer Engineering
Chair Dr. Rasara Samarasinghe - University of Moratuwa (EE)
Co-Chairs Dr. Kutila Gunasekara – University of Moratuwa (CoE)/ Dr. Lasantha Senevirathna – SLIIT (ETE)

2. Civil, Environmental and Material Science Engineering
Chair Dr. Kamal Karunananda – Open University of Sri Lanka (CE)
Co-Chairs Dr. Panduka Neluwala – University of Peradeniya (CE)/ Dr. Hansinee Sitinamaluwa – University of Moratuwa (MaE)/ Dr Thanuja Kulathunga – KDU (CE)

3. Mechanical, Building Service, Manufacturing and Chemical Engineering
Chair Dr. Krishantha Wickramasinghe – University of Ruhuna (ME)
Co-Chairs Dr. Pasan Bandara – University of Sri Jayewardenepura (ChE)/ Dr T. Thanihaichelvan – University of Jaffna (ME)

4. Engineering Mathematics and Management
Chair Dr. Pasan Edirisinghe – University of Moratuwa (Math)
Co-Chairs Dr. A.M.A Saja – Southeast University of Sri Lanka (EE)/ Dr. Nisha Palgolla – University of Moratuwa (Mgt)


Submission of Papers:

The intention of submitting a paper should be conveyed to the IESL with an abstract of the proposed paper. The abstract, not exceeding 300 words in English, together with details of the author/(s) can be submitted in electronic format at the URL https://cmt3.research.microsoft.com/IESLYMSTC2024/


Guidelines for preparing the abstracts :

    • The abstract must showcase original research.
    • The author/s should have adhered to ethical norms in conducting the research.
    • The abstract should include the purpose and background of the research, a brief description of research methods, findings, and conclusions.
    • The text of the abstract should not exceed 300 words.
    • A maximum of four keywords should be provided.
    • The abstract should be coherent and free of language errors.
    • The abstract should be formatted in ‘Times New Roman’ size 11 with 1.5 line spacing.
    • Standard abbreviations of SI units should be used.
    • Acknowledgements should be restricted to the names of funding agencies providing sponsorship.
    • An author may submit one abstract as single-author and one abstract as co-author OR no more than two abstracts as co-author.


Format of the Full Paper - Click Here

Agreement Form - Click Here



Selected technical papers will be published in a separate technical journal.



The three best papers will be awarded based on overall performance, theoretical aspects, and a solution for an existing engineering issue.


Mailing Address

All correspondence besides submissions in electronic format should be addressed to:

Dr. Akila Wijethunga 

Dr. Damayanthi Herath                             

Editor, Technical Papers for YMS Conference,          

The Institution of Engineers, Sri Lanka,                      

120/15, Wijerama Mawatha,                                                       

Colombo 7.    

 Tel:  011-2698426 Ext. 232, 207   

 Fax: 011-2699202

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.