Welcome to IESL - JIY 2022


Competition Details

The 'Junior Inventor of the Year' (JIY) competition is a monumental effort brought to life by the Institution of Engineering Sri Lanka (IESL) in collaboration with the Ministry of Education. The competition intends to inspire the innovative young generation of Sri Lanka by pioneering the platform to bring out their creativity, inventiveness, and ingenuity. Intending to empower young minds, the competition allows students to present innovations of their own and offers recognition they truly deserve. Being a locally and globally recognized platform the Junior Inventor of the Year competition is the best way to pave the deserved path for the creative young community in Sri Lanka.The youth between the age of 12-19 years are invited to unleash their inner potential through the JIY competition organized for the 42nd consecutive year.


IESL / IESL JIY Committee


To be the apex national body of engineers in Sri Lanka which ensures internationally recognized and locally relevant standards in the professional practice and education in engineering, while actively supporting national development and diligently serving its members and the society at large.


  • Total Membership - 20,248
  • Corporate Members - 5,230
  • Fellow - 526
  • Honorary Fellow 3
  • Associate Members - 11,594
  • Affiliate Members – 145
  • Companions – 9
  • Associates – 32
  • Student Members - 2,709

Functional Arms

  • Engineering Sectional Committees
  • Overseas Chapters
  • Provincial Chapters
  • University Chapters
  • Forums


The Competition

Pioneered by the Institution of Engineers, Sri Lanka in 1980, the Junior Inventor of the Year (JIY) competition promotes creativity and ingenuity among school children in the age group 12 to 19 years from schools all over Sri Lanka participate.

The top ten inventions at this competition together with the ten finalists of the Science Research Project Competition of the NSF then compete at the Sri Lanka Science and Engineering Fair (SLSEF), held under the auspices of the Ministry of Education, and Sri Lanka branch of the Intel Corporation, USA.

Winners at the SLSEF have the opportunity to be selected to proceed to the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair held in US in May of each year.

Awareness creation sessions conducted by the IESL precede the competitions. Those selected at the preliminary competitions get to participate in the final competition held in August.JIY finalists are facilitated to display their inventions at the JIY Stall at the annual flagship event of the IESL, the Techno, Sri Lanka Exhibition held in October.


Preliminary rounds will take place in provincial screening centers. Final competition will be held at Colombo IESL-HQ.(Details will be provided later)


Registrations are now open! Check the Timeline for more details


Competition Timeline




Click the button below to find out.

Rules And Regulations

Click the button below to view competition rules and regulations.


Meet your school represntative.

Register Here as a Contestent for IESL-JIY 2022

Click the button(s) below to Fill / Download J Form.


JIY Winners 2021


JIY Magazine


Competition Prizes

Prizes for Winners

  • First Place

    Rs. 20,000/= + A Gold Medal and a Certificate.

  • Second Place

    Rs. 17,500/= + A Silver Medal and a Certificate

  • Third Place

    Rs. 15,000/= + A Bronze Medal and a Certificate

Category Wise Winners

  • First Place

    The esteemed Title of “The Most Innovative Team of the year “Cash Prize of Rs. 7,000/=, a Gold Medal and a Certificate

  • Second Place

    Cash Prize of Rs. 6,000/=, a Silver medal and a Certificate

  • Third Place

    Cash Prize of Rs. 5,000/=, a Bronze Medal and a Certificate


Main Committee Members

Eng. J Meegoda


Eng. Kasun Perera


Prof. K T M U Hemapala


Eng. Navodana Kankanamge

Immediate Past Chairman

Eng. Lasantha Prasad

Vice Chairman

Eng. Kisho Kumar


Eng. Imasha Balahewa

Assistant Secretary

Eng. Jagath Jayaranga

Committee Member

Eng. Prabath Ilangakoon

Committee Member

Eng. Upul Pallekubura

Committee Member

Mr. Sameera Wijerathne

Committee Member

Eng. Uththara Kanakaratne

Committee Member

Eng. Akila Wijesinghe

Committee Member

Eng. Vinura Wickramasinghe

Committee Member


Undergraduate Sub Committee Members

Miss Piumi Pahalage


Mr. Amila Premakumara

Immediate Past Chariman

Mr. Wasath Wanniarachchi


Miss Tinaya Wijethunge


Mr. Pesala Welangalle


Miss Koshila Chandrasena


Miss Samadhi Gunawardene

Director of Operations

Miss Charithri Senaratne

Director of HR & PM

Mr. Amantha Mawathage

Director of Marketing

Mr. Chathura Parakrama

Director of Digital Excellency

Mr. Venura Avishka

Chief Organizer

Miss Yashodya Karunanayake

Chief Editor

Mr. Wedahitha Yapa

Chief Web Developer

Mr. Ramith Laksara

Web Editor

Miss Chathuni Fernando

Assistant Director of Marketing

Miss Madhawi Pathum


Ishana Dewmini

Committee Member

Mohamed Nafras

Committee Member

Sudewa Thanapathy

Committee Member

Thisal Somarathne

Committee Member

Shamika Imantha

Committee Member

Anoshan Jayahanthan

Committee Member

Bimbara Rathnayake

Committee Member

Mahil Mahiliny

Committee Member

Charunie Hansika

Committee Member

Chirantha Kasun

Committee Member

Pasan Madara

Committee Member

Sayuni Gamage

Committee Member

Kavishka Rathnayake

Committee Member