The 12th Annual General Meeting 2020/2021 of the Institution of Engineers of Sri Lanka – Qatar Chapter was held on 29th January 2021 at Mercure Grands Hotel – Doha, Qatar. The AGM was held in a hybrid method where few members attended the venue in person while others joined online to cater to the new normal posed by the COVID-19 situation. Following dignitaries graced the event online

Executive Committee


Chief Guest:                     H.E Mohamed Mafaz Mohideen, Sri Lankan Ambassador to the State of Qatar

1st Guest of Honor:          Eng. K.P.I.U. Dharmapala – President IESL

2nd Guest of Honor:         Eng. Arjuna Manamperi – President Elect IESL

Keynote Speaker:            Dr (Eng.) Kamal Laksiri                  

The event started with the lighting of the traditional oil lamp followed by the National Anthem. A thoughtful welcome speech was given by the outgoing chairman of the IESL Qatar Chapter Eng. Prasanna Janakasiri. He thanked all outgoing ExCom members for their tremendous support during the past tenure. He also emphasized the need to produce great leaders who can take up the leadership in the future. A video presentation of “A flashback of Qatar Chapter during last year” prepared by Eng. Shakeal Badurdeen was displayed. The presentation showcased the events that were conducted by the IESL -Q Chapter during 2020. The financial statement for the year 2020 was presented by the outgoing Treasurer Eng. Mohamed Fazil.

Afterwards, the recorded speech of the Chief Guest H.E the ambassador played wherein H.E the Ambassador praised the events conducted during past year specifically the CPD’s and CSR projects. He also emphasized the need to be levelheaded and continue to shape and build a more sustainable future. The speech was concluded with best wishes to the upcoming office bearers and to all the members. Following the Chief guest’s speech, the 1st Guest of Honor Eng. Dharmapala delivered his speech live online. He briefed about the formation and purpose of the chapters. He emphasized the importance of guiding the young engineers and appreciated the enthusiasm of the Qatar Chapter in this direction and also appreciated the CPD’s, CSR projects, Conducting B Paper Exam which were conducted last year. He assured his full support to the Chapter as the president of the IESL and concluded his brief speech with the note saying “Life is good when you are happy. Life is better when others are happy because of you”.

The next item of the AGM was the speech live online by the 2nd Guest of Honor Eng. Arjuna Manamperi – President Elect IESL. Eng. Arjuna delivered an enthusiastic and motivational speech. He briefed about the challenging task of the IESL, having more than 20,000 members, in the operation of its headquarters and emphasized the need to digitalize the operations of the IESL. He encouraged the members to use as much as available online facilities. The importance of being a Chartered Member was highlighted by him. Eng. Arjuna Manamperi concluded his speech highlighting the involvement of the IESL in national issues such as the Urban Council Act, Eastern Container Terminal (ECT) of the Colombo port.

Following Eng. Arjuna’s speech, Dr. (Eng.) Kamal Laksiri delivered his keynote speech (recorded) on ‘Six Inescapable for Engineers Practicing Team Works’. He briefly addressed the key concepts of Trust, ban the word they, disagreeing well, creating the fishball mindset, seeking due air cover, laugh a lot. After the Dr. Kamal’s speech recorded songs by Eng. Rohan Egodagama & Eng. Chandana Abeywickrama were played to entertain the audience.

New EXCOM members were inducted by Eng. Kamil Ariff, the Election Commissioner, after relieving outgoing ExCom members’ roles and responsibilities.

The following members were inducted as office bearers for the upcoming year 2020/2021.

Chairman                           Eng. Prasanna Janakasiri

Vice Chairman                   Eng. Prabuddha Lokuliyange

Secretary                           Eng. Manoj Vellaiyapillai

Treasurer                           Eng. Mohamed Fazil

Editor                                 Eng. M.A.A. Rumais

Project Leader 1                CEng. Chanaka Guruge

Project Leader 2                Eng. Janaka  Samarathunge

Executive Committee Members:
1. Eng. Irfan Aboobuker
2. Eng. Fawzan Faiz
3. Eng. Saddhathissa Sirisena
4. Eng. Nayeemudeen S
5. Eng. Ismath A R M

Following the induction, the new chairman for the tenure 2020/2021 delivered his speech. Engineer Prasanna renewed his call to all members, outgoing ExCom and incoming ExCom to extend the fullest support to take the chapter to the next level. AGM was concluded with the vote of thanks given by the new secretary Eng. Manoj Vellaiyapillai, where he thanked all who supported to make the AGM very colorful and successful especially emphasizing the names of former Chairman Eng. Jagath Gunasekara and Eng. Kamil Ariff for leadership behind the organizing; Eng. Fawzan Faiz for the vital role of being host of the event; Eng. Shakeal Badurdeen for providing the necessary IT support; Eng. Mohamed Ziyan Alavi for capturing the event, and outgoing EXCOM Members for taking parts different events in occasion.

Main Highlights of the AGM

Eng. Fawzan Faiz was Compeering the IESLQ Chapter AGM 2020/2021

Events of Lighting Traditional Lamp by invitees

Important Captures during the AGM

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Email Print