Women Engineers' Day Celebration


10th Annual General Meeting of The Women Engineers' Forum

Women Engineers Forum (WEF) of the IESL marked the International Women's day by holding The Women Engineers' Day 2019 and the 10th Annual General Meeting on March 08, 2019 from 3.30 pm onwards at Wimalasurendra Auditorium at IESL premises with the participation of women engineers representing industry as well as academia. The event was graced by several Prominent Personalities in the field of Engineering. Eng. (Ms.) Helen Claire Dauris, Civil Engineer and wife of British Ambassador for Sri Lanka was the Chief Guest and Ms. Dilrukshi Dias Wickramasignhe, Presidents' Counsel was the Guest Speaker.  They were joined by other distinguished guests, the first lady Engineer Dr. (Ms.) Premala Sivasegaram, the first lady president of IESL, Eng. (Ms.) Lanka Haturusinha, the immediate past president of IESL Prof. Niranjanie Ratnayake, past chairpersons of WEF of IESL, fellow women engineers of IESL and other distinguished invitees.

Gathering was warmly welcomed by the outgoing chairperson of WEF of IESL, Eng. (Ms.) Shyama Gunawardana.  Chief Guest Eng. (Ms.) Helen Claire Dauris shared her experience as a Civil Engineer. The Guest Speaker for the day, Ms. Dilrukshi Dias Wickramasignhe delivered a speech on "Women's Role in Society" emphasizing the importance of spiritual and morale development. It was an interesting interactive session.

WEF of IESL, awarded a special award, the inaugural IESL Women Engineers' Forum award on "Encouragement of Young Women to become Engineers". Ms. Chathuni Hansani Wasantha Wijegunawardena who obtained the first place in the country in Physical Science stream at the G. C. E. Advance Level Examination in 2018. The purpose of this recognition is to encourage young women to take up carrier in engineering which is essential for development of Sri Lanka.

Celebration of IESL Women Engineers' Day 2018 was successfully concluded and was followed by the 10th Annual General Meeting of WEF from 5.30 pm onwards. Eng. (Ms.) Shyama Gunawardana was re-elected as the chairperson for the WEF of IESL for the year 2019/2020 session. Eng. (Ms.) Devika Abeysuriya, Eng. (Ms.) Lilani Ruhunage and Eng. (Ms.) Dulmini Indrasiri were re-elected as Vice Chairperson and two joint Secretaries respectively. Eng. (Ms.) Srimathi Senadeera was appointed as the Treasurer and Eng. (Ms,) Kushmy Senaratne was appointed as the Social Secretary. WEF of IESL enthusiastically waiting to serve the women engineers in Sri Lanka with more creative, inspirational and innovative thoughts for the year 2019/2020 session. 

Executive Committee comprised of following members for the Session 2018/2019

      Eng. (Ms.) Shayma Gunawardana   Chairperson                             
              Eng. (Ms.) Devika Abeysuriya   Deputy Chairperson
   Eng. (Ms.) Lilani Ruhunuge     Joint Secretary 
   Eng. (Ms.) Dulmini Indrasiri   Joint Secretary 
   Eng. (Ms.) Srimathi Senadheera  Treasurer   
   Eng. (Ms.) Kushmy Senaratne  Social Secretary  
   Eng. (Ms.) Tharangika Jayasundara   Committee Member
   Eng. (Ms.) Sriyani Abewickrama    Committee Member  
   Eng. (Ms.) Kumuduni Wijegunawardana   Committee Member 
   Eng. (Ms.) Mahesha Dissanayake    Committee Member 
   Eng. (Ms.) Sajani Thotagamuwa  Committee Member 
   Eng. (Ms.) Kanishka Rambukwella   Committee Member  
   Eng. (Ms.) Anuradha Kolambathanthri  Committee Member
   Eng. (Ms.) Kalpana Balasooriya  Committee Member  

Eng. (Ms.) Lanka Haturusinha, Eng. (Prof.) N. Ratnayake, Eng. (Ms.) Vasantha Nallathamby, Eng. (Ms.) Badra Kamaladasa, Eng. (Ms.) Thamara Mallawaarchchi and Eng. (Ms.) Mangala Wickramanayake are serving as the members of the Advisory committee.

AGM of the WEF of IESL was followed by a Dinner at the IESL Members' Lounge with Music by Music Engineers of the IESL.

Event Photos


 The Institution of Engineers, Sri Lanka, 120/15 Wijerama Mawatha, Colombo 00700