COUNCIL SESSION 2020/2021 DECISIONS

(1). 1st Council Meeting on 31st October 2020

Decisions:

<u>1. Sending the final notice to members of the IESL for year 2020 (related to Subscription</u> <u>Payment)</u>

Council discussed on the paper No.: 2020/2021/SEC01-31-10-2020-Procedure, tabled by CEO/ES through President IESL.

- Council decided to convey the message to the members on below methods, since it is not possible to send letters by registered post, due to COVID Pandemic Situation.
 - a) Send the notice/reminders through emails frequently
 - b) Send SMS
 - c) Publish a notice on IESL Web
- Council decided NOT to publish paper articles or articles on social media related to this matter.

Council also decided to extend the deadline to settle membership subscription for year 2020 until 31st December 2020

2. Appointment of Chairmen for Standing Committees.

- Eng. Granie R. Jayalath, VP Chairman, Education
- Eng. (Prof.) Ranjith Dissanayake, VP Chairman, Library and Publications
- Eng. P. W. Sarath, VP Chairman, CPD
- Eng. Arjuna Manamperi, President Elect- Chairman Professional Standards Management Committee (PSMC) & Chairman Techno
- Eng. K. P. I. U. Dharmapala President Professional Affairs, Financial & Procurement Committee, Registration Board, University Liaison Committee, Provincial Chapter Committee

3. Appointment of Chairman YMS

Council appointed Eng. Damith Dissanayake as the Chairman YMS

4. Appointment of Chairman JIY

Council appointed Eng. Navodana Kankanamge as the Chairman JIY

5. Appointment of Chairman National Policy Forum

Council appointed Eng. M. G. Hemachandra as the Chairman National Policy Forum

6. Legal Committee

Council refrained from appointing the committee since there is no immediate requirement

7. Appointment of Chairman of Editorial Board Council appointed Eng. (Prof) T M Pallewatta as the Chairman of Editorial Board

8. Appointment of Editor and Assistant Editor to SLEN

- Council appointed Eng. Suran Fernando as the Editor of SLEN
- Council appointed Eng. Chamil Edirimuni as the Assistant Editor of SLEN

9. Editorial Board

Editor Transactions, Editor Engineer Journal, to be appointed in consultation with Eng. (Prof) T. M. Pallewatta

10. Policy Forum

Council decided to appoint Eng. M G Hemachandra as the chaiman Policy forum

11. Appointment of Members to the By- Laws Revision Committee.

Council decided to continue with previous By Laws Revision Committee until the SGM is held

12. Appointment of Members to the Disciplinary Committee

Council decided to continue with previous disciplinary committee until the SGM is held

13. Organization of Professional Associations (OPA)

Members to be appointed later

14. Appointments of Directors for the Board of the IESL College of Engineering

- 1. Eng. K P I U dharmapala P-IESL
- 2. Eng. (Prof) Sarath Abayakoon- IPP-IESL
- 3. Eng. Arjuna Manamperi PE-IESL
- 4. Eng. Granie R. Jayalath VP-IESL
- 5. Eng. (Prof.) Ranjith Dissanayake VP-IESL
- 6. Eng. P W Sarath VP-IESL
- 7. Eng. W N A M Abeysekera CEO/ES IESL

15. National Science Foundation (NSF)

Eng. (Prof) S B S Abayakoon, expressed his willingness to continue as the IESL representative to NSF, since he is in a subcommittee to organize the next conference.

16. Appointment of Members to the Accreditation Board

No vacancies to be filled

17. Appointment of Members to the Board of Registration

Eng. Mangala Silva, expressed his willingness to resign from the Board of Registration to give an opportunity to another person in corporate member Category. CEO/ES requested Eng. Mangala Silva to send his resignation letter as a formality.

18. IESL Elections for the Session 2021/2022

Council decided to appoint Eng. Rear Admiral Ravi Ranasinghe after obtaining his consent. ARO's to be appointed

19. Council ratified the proposal made by the Sectional Committee to obtain the service of Eng. (Prof) Rahuala Attalage, as the resource person to conduct Eng. B. D. Rampala Memorial Lecture as an online lecture to be held on 16th November 2020.

Eng. Mangala Silva Hony. Secretary