COUNCIL SESSION 2019/2020 DECISIONS

(1). 1st Council Meeting on 26h October 2019

Decisions:

(1) Appointments to fill the vacancies in the 2018/19 Council:

- 1. Chairman- Chemical & Process Engineering Sectional Committee: Eng. W. A. N. R. Wickramasinghe
- 2. Chairman, Agri. & Plant. Eng. Sect. Com. Eng. H. C. J. Thilakarathne

(2) Appointments of Chairmen for Standing Committees:

1. Chairman, Professional Standards Management Committee:

Eng. K. P. I. U. Dharmapala - President Elect.

2. Chairman, Education Committee:

Eng. (Dr.) Kamal Laksiri - Vice President

3. Chairman, Finance and Procurement Committee:

Eng. (Prof.) S. B.S. Abayakoon - President

4. Chairman, TECHNO Committee:

Eng. K. P. I. U. Dharmapala - President Elect.

5. Chairman, Continuing Professional Development Committee:

Eng. Granie Jayalath - Vice President

6. Chairman, Professional Affairs Committee:

Eng. (Prof.) S. B. S. Abayakoon – President

7. Chairman, Library and Publication Committee:

Eng. Kosala Kamburadeniya- Vice President

(3) Appointment of Chairman - YMS

Eng. Dimuthu Lakmal was appointed by the Council as the Chairman of YMS for the session 2019/2020

(4) Appointment of Chairman - JIY

Eng. Dayan Herath was appointed by the Council as the Chairman of JIY for the session 2019/2020

(5) Appointments of Members to Editor Posts

- 1. Editor Engineer Journal Eng. (Dr) P. A. K. Karunananda
- 2. Editor Transactions Eng. (Prof.) Jagath Manathunga
- 3. SLEN Editor Eng. Lalith Pallegama,
- 4. SLEN Sub Editor Eng. Suran Fernando.

(6) Appointments of Directors for the Board of the IESL College of Engineering

- 1. Eng. (Prof.) Sarath Abayakoon P-IESL
- 2. Eng. K. P. I. U. Dharmapala PE-IESL
- 3. Eng. (Prof.) T. M. Pallewatta IPP-IESL
- 4. Eng. Granie R. Jayalath VP-IESL
- 5. Eng. (Dr.) Kamal Laksiri VP-IESL
- 6. Eng. Kosala Kamburadeniya VP-IESL
- 7. Eng. W N A M Abeysekera CEO/ES IESL

(7) Appointment of Members to the By-Laws Revision Committee.

Following appointments were made by the Council for the session 2019/2020.

- 1. Eng. (Prof.) S. B. S. Abayakoon President IESL 2019/2020
- 2. Eng. Priyal De Silva Past President
- 3. Eng. Chula De Silva Past President
- 4. Eng. Kosala Kamburadeniya Fellow Member & VP 2019/2020
- 5. Eng. P. W. Sarath Fellow Member & Council Member
- 6. Eng. (Mrs). Shayama Gunawardena Fellow Member & Council Member

(8) Appointment of Members to the Disciplinary Committee

Following appointments were made by the Council for the session 2019/2020

- 1. Eng. Priyal De Silva Past President
- 2. Eng. (Prof) Mrs. N. Ratnayake- Past President
- 3. Eng. (Prof) Priyan Dias Fellow Member
- 4. Eng.(Dr.) H. H. J Keerthisena- Fellow Member
- 5. Eng. Russel De Zilva- Fellow Member
- 6. Eng. Bandula Thilakasena- Fellow Member

(9) Working Committee for Sydney Accord Membership of IEA

Council established the above committee and appointed Eng. (Dr) Kamal Laksiri as the Chairman of the same for the session 2019/2020.

(10) Board of Trustees

Council appointed Eng. (Dr.) Ananda Ranasinghe as the Chairman of Board of Trustees for a 4 year period

(11) Board of Accreditation

Council appointed Eng. G. D. A. Piyathilaka as Industry Representative to Board of Accreditation for 4 years period.

(12) ICT Committee

Following appointments were made by the Council for the session 2019/2020.

- 1. Eng. (Prof) S. B. S. Abayakoon Chairman
- 2. Eng. (Prof) Mrs. N. Ratnayake
- 3. Eng. Dileepa Lathsara
- 4. Eng. Indika Walpitage
- 5. Eng. Chandana Gamage

(13) Legal Committee

- 1. Eng. (Dr) Chandana Gamage Chairman
- 2. Eng. (Dr) Ananda Ranasinghe
- 3. Eng. Arjuna Manamperi
- 4. Eng. A. P. R. Silva
- 5. Eng. Suran Fernando
- 6. Eng. Chamil Edirimuni

(14) Water Forum

Council appointed Eng. (Dr) Kamal Laksiri as the Chairman of the Water Forum for the session 2019/2020.

(15) Policy Forum

Council appointed Eng. M. G. Hemachandra as the Chairman of the Policy Forum for the session 2019/2020.

(16) IESL Elections for the Session 2020/2021

Following appointments were made by the Council.

- 1. Eng. (Rear. Ad.) Ravi Ranasinghe CRO
- 2. Eng. (Prof) J.P. Karunadasa- ARO
- 3. Eng. Kusum Priyananda- ARO
- 4. Eng. Chulani Perera- ARO

(17) OPA Forum Members

Council appointed following Members for the session 2019/2020 as IESL representatives to OPA

- 1. Eng. (Prof) S. B. S. Abayakoon
- 2. Eng. (Prof) Dayantha Wijesekera
- 3. Eng. Nihal Wijeyewickrama
- 4. Eng. Upali Jayawardane
- 5. Eng. Dhammika Dhramarathne
- 6. Eng. Suran Fernando
- 7. Eng. Manjula Samarasinghe
- 8. Eng. Navodana Kankanamge
- 9. Eng. Neil Abeysekera
- 10. Eng. Saliya Kaluarachchi
- 11. Eng. Hemal Pieris

(18) CIDA –National Advisory Council

Council appointed President, Eng. (Prof.) S. B. S. Abayakoon as the IESL representative to the above committee for the session 2019/2020

(19) UGC Standing Committees

Council appointed President, Eng. (Prof.) S. B. S. Abayakoon as the IESL representative to the following UGC Standing committees for the session 2019/2020

- 1. Engineering and Architecture
- 2. Technology stream

(20) Infrastructure Committee

- 1. Eng. (Prof) S. B. S. Abayakoon Chairman
- 2. Eng. Manjula Samarasinghe Deputy Chairman
- 3. Eng. Lalith Pallegama
- 4. Eng. Banduka Kurruppu
- 5. Eng. Asitha Bandaranayake
- 6. Eng. (Major) Indika Samantha

(21) Transport Sector Committee

- Eng. (Prof) Ranjith Dissanayake Chairman CESC (Chairman of Sub-committee)
- Eng. Chamil Edirimuni Chairman EEESC
- Eng. E.M.P.G.L.G.K. Ekanayaka Chairman MESC
- Eng. Granie Jayalath Industry expert
- Eng. (Dr) Thilak Siyambalapitiya
- Eng. Priyal de Silva

- Eng. (Prof) Amal Kumarage
- Eng. Dhammika Jayasundara
- Eng. Sarath Gamini

Eng. Mangala Silva Hony. Secretary

(2). 2nd Council Meeting on 01st November 2019

- 1. Council Decided **to grant** accreditation to the Bachelor of Science of Engineering Honours in Civil Engineering Degree by the University of Peradeniya for intake years from 2018 to 2020
- 2. Council Decided **to grant** accreditation to the Bachelor of Science of Engineering Honours in Material Science and Engineering Degree by the University of Moratuwa, for intake years from 2018 to 2020

Eng. Mangala Silva Hony. Secretary