## THE INSTITUTION OF ENGINEERS, SRI LANKA

120/15, Wijerama Mawatha, Colombo 7.

### **BUILDING SERVICES ENGINEERING SECTIONAL COMMITTEE**

Visit BSESC web page on http://iesl.lk/page-1579092?



# **PROGRESS REPORT**

For the Period between 1st Nov. 2019 and 30th Nov. 2019



• The Inaugural Meeting of the Building Services Engineering Sectional Committee (BSESC) for the session 2019/2020 was held on 26<sup>th</sup> November 2019. The location of the meeting has been shifted from IESL to the Main Auditorium of IESL College of Engineering where there is additional seating capacity. Eventually the highest ever attendance was reported for this inaugural meeting in which **one hundred thirty-one (131) participants** has signed the attendance sheet. There were members who travelled all the way from faraway places like **Hambanthota** to participate only for this meeting.



- BSESC Chairman, Eng. Suran Fernando, welcomed the participants. Then Eng. Lakmal Isuru
   was unanimously selected by the house for the post of Secretary for the session 2019/2020.
- Thereafter, Secretary for the previous session 2018/2019, Eng. Thushara Pathirana did a
  brief but a comprehensive presentation on the progress of the BSESC activities during the
  last session titled 'BSESC Session 2018/2019 Flashback'.
- Thus, an overview of the work plan for the new session titled 'BSESC Session 2019/2020 Way Forward' was presented by the Chairman. In this presentation the time plan of the new
  activities as well as the continuing activates such as the Building Code, Revision of BSE related
  Standards, ongoing CSR, Engineering Heritage Exploration project etc. were highlighted.
- Since BSESC has won the 'Gold Award for the Best Sectional Committee' title this year for the 10<sup>th</sup> consecutive time since 2010, this remarkable achievement was demonstrated to the
  - audience by presenting an attractive video prepared on the activities of the BSESC during the past years. Further the members of the TECNHO Sub Committee was felicitated by presenting a gift of appreciation for their commitment and contribution.







• Eng. (Dr.) Chandana Jayawardana (adviser of the BSESC Engineering Heritage Subcommittee) presented the activity progress through a slideshow titled "Engineering Heritage Exploration at Ranmasu Uyana" which created the interest of both the present and the potential membership towards such activities in the future.



• The names of the following BSESC members were nominated by the house for the Main Committee for the session 2019/2020.

#### **Officers**

- 1 Eng. Suran Fernando (Chairman)
- 2 Eng. Lakmal Isuru (Secretary)

#### **Fellow Members**

- 3 Eng. Chula de Silva
- 4 Eng. Kirthi Sri Senanayake
- 5 Eng. Kosala Kamburadeniya
- 6 Eng. Samantha Gunawardana

#### **Corporate Members**

- 7 Eng. Sanath Abeykoon
- 8 Eng. Prasanna Narangoda
- 9 Eng. D.U. Amarasinghe
- 10 Eng. Bandula Karunarathne
- 11 Eng. Koojana Weerasinghe
- 12 Eng. Samantha Indika
- 13 Eng. Asitha Bandaranayake

- 14 Eng. Thushara Pathirana
- 15 Eng. Dilan Thilanga
- 16 Eng. Asanka Karunanayake
- 17 Eng. Kolitha Warnasiri
- 18 Eng. Supun Thilakawardana

### **Associate Members**

- 19 Eng. Priyan Bellana
- 20 Eng. Damitha Jayarathne
- 21 Eng. Aruna Sanjeewa
- 22 Eng. Ishan Ranganath
- 23 Eng. Jayalath Amarawansa
- 24 Eng. Aruna Krishantha
- 25 Eng. Madushan Samarakoon
- 26 Eng. Kushan Jayasuriya
- 27 Eng. (Ms) Lakmini Abeysuriya
- 28 Eng. Thilina Saranga
- 29 Eng. Dhanushka Kodithuwakku
- 30 Eng. Kaushal Pathirana
- 31 Eng. J.S. Sathiyajith
- 32 Eng. D.S. Abeysundara
- 33 Eng. Mahesh Udayanga
- Several BSESC Past Chairmen including Eng. Chandana Dalugoda, Eng. Piyasiri Kalubowila,
  Eng. Bandula Karunarathne, Eng. Samantha Gunawardana & Eng. Prasanna Narangoda
  graced the BSESC inaugural meeting. Eng. Dalugoda, Eng. Kalubowila and Eng. Gunawardana
  expressed their ideas on the past, present and future of the BSESC to enlighten the
  membership.



• The meeting was concluded with the vote of thank by the Chairman who invited all to participants to join hands with the BSESC throughout this session and to actively contribute the BSE sector in the country.

Prepared by,

Eng. Lakmal Isuru

(Secretary, BSESC)